2018 Convocation Speakers & Award Winners

Graduating Biology and BMB students were recognized for their academic excellence and research contributions at the Biology and BMB Convocation ceremonies on May 19. At the Biology ceremony Ernest Dimbo served as Student Speaker and a number of awards were given out to graduating seniors including Anjali Oberoi (Senior College Prize for Excellence in Biology);... More

Leah Williams’ Paper Selected among Editor’s Choice Top 10 papers for ISDCI Congress

A paper by Ph.D. candidate Leah Williams in Tom Gilmore's lab was selected as one of ten Editor's Choice papers (from 2015-18) for the 14th International Society for Developmental & Comparative Immunology Congress, June 17th - 21st, 2018 (Santa Fe, New Mexico). The paper, "A conserved Toll-like receptor-to-NF-κB signaling pathway in the endangered coral Orbicella... More

Sanda Zolj Receives Presentation Award at Northeastern Section of the American Society of Plant Biologists Meeting

Ph.D. candidate, Sanda Zolj, of the Celenza lab was recently awarded with the Best Presentation Award Runner-up at the Northeastern Section of the American Society of Plant Biologists meeting held at UMass Amherst this year. Her talk was entitled "The Arabidopsis alf3-1 Mutation Causes Autoimmunity in the Root and Identifies a TIR... More

Nicola El Tom Selected to Participate in Summer Research Program, Station1

Nicola El Tom, Biology Class of 2020, has been selected to join the inaugural 2018 cohort of students in the summer science and technology-based research program, Summer@Station1. Station1 has a mission of providing frontier, socially-directed, science and technology-focused research and internships to students nationwide. Nicola was selected from hundreds of applicants... More

2018 Biology Department Undergraduate Research Awards

Please join us in congratulating the three winners of the 2018 Biology Department Undergraduate Research Awards: Milad Babaei, Linnea Smith, and Rebekah Zhang! Milad Babaei performed research with the Gilmore lab on CRISPR-based targeting of the NEMO adapter protein for tissue-specific inactivation of NF-kB signaling. Linnea Smith performed research with the Primack... More